Board of Directors

Natasha Alikova - Treasurer


Amanda Smith 

I have a bit of a diverse background!  I have a Bachelor of Arts Degree in History and Italian, but I have a side passion:  I am very passionate about our food system, and am happy to provide growing tips to our members and community residents if they have a question.  I ran a local farm business with some partners for 3 years, and really felt that the hands on trials and mistakes of farming was the most valuable information and training I could ever have.  In that capacity I specialized in herbs, hothouse growing, and sales at market.  Previously, and for some years overlapping, I worked full time as a retail sales manager for 17 years.  In the end, the customer, and individual experience was very impactful, and I feel a need to encourage members of our gardens, and the community to embrace even small scale growing, whatever their capacity is, for their benefit.

I am also a market manager of a farmers market.  I stand behind our local farmers and the time and importance of local growing.  I want now to share with everyone I can, the knowledge I have gained over the years.

In 2016, I am completing the Master Gardener’s course through the Master Gardener’s Association of British Columbia, and will soon be in the community of Langley talking all about veggies, plants, and soil!


Lindsey Lipovsky

Lindsey grew up on Vancouver Island and has fond memories of gardening with her family as a child and spending countless hours playing the woods behind her house. She moved to Vancouver in 1999 to attend UBC where she completed a B.A. in psychology. She is now working on a M.A. in Higher Education while working for UBC as an Associate Academic Governance Officer.

After moving to Vancouver and having no space for a proper garden, she was thrilled to discover the Maples Discovery Gardens Co-op where she and her husband are able to grow healthy, organic vegetables.

Lindsey is interested in learning more about the effects of non-organic and GMO foods on human health. She likes to dream of having a property where she is able to have a garden that would sustain her family. She hopes to be able to provide her (future) children with experiences with nature similar to those she had growing up.

While not working or going to school, Lindsey enjoys gardening, kayaking, cooking and baking, knitting, sewing, camping, and hiking, among many other things.


Kathy Vandermeer

I grew up on a small hobby farm in Coquitlam. Besides raising chickens, ducks, geese and cows, Dad had a very large garden. From a very early age I helped with every aspect of it. Over the years I gained a lot of knowledge on how to successfully grow many types of vegetables. I remember one day sitting in the garden, actually watching beans as they sprouted! Oh to have that amount of free time again! Wherever I’ve lived, I have had some form of a garden, no matter how small. It helps me to keep in touch with Nature. When I lived in a ground floor Condo, I managed to replace most of the Strata plants with Swiss chard, lettuce, Rosemary and many other herbs!
I had passed by Maples Discovery Co-Op numerous times over the years before finally stopping in to explore it. I was very impressed and immediately joined and obtained my own plot.  It is an oasis after a stressful day. I have also taken advantage of several very informative seminars and classes held there. I have been a member of several strata boards, and am currently a member of my townhouse strata council. I have in the past been a volunteer and a board member of the Langley Hospice Foundation. I attended BCIT where I completed a Diploma in Marketing Management Technology, and an Associate Certificate in Office Computer skills. I also hold a Certificate in Computer Repair from Vancouver City College.
I retired from Telus and Telus Mobility after 30 years. I held many positions, among them Inside Sales and Key Accounts. My last position there was Escalated Calls-the complaint department! I then went back to school and completed a certificate at SFU as a Career Development Practitioner. I am now happily employed in the Social Services field working with people with Developmental Disabilities who live in Home Share.
Besides gardening I enjoy reading, working out and walking/hiking anywhere in the great outdoors!